Tameside College


Chef of the Year Awards 2009

Chef of the Year Awards 2009

Tameside College hosted the annual competition to find the ‘School Chef of the Year 2009’ for primary schools in the Tameside area. The five hopeful contestants were Wendy Ashworth, Suzanne Fuller, Sara Lynch, Chris Pearson and Kay Walker.

The chefs had full use of the college kitchens, and had 90 minutes to prepare a main course and a dessert. The dishes were then presented to two panels of judges at midday. The first set of judges were pupils Louise Taylor and Cameron Palmer Brooks from Parochial School. Not only did the food have to meet the expectations of Louise and Cameron but the cost of both courses could not exceed £1.25 per child. The second panel of judges consisted of Barbara Hulme, Kevin Amesbury - a chef from the college and Layla Wilkins a Senior Nutrition Advisor. 

After much deliberation and a tough decision the winner was announced as Chris Pearson (kitchen supervisor) from The Heys Primary School, in Ashton. Principal, Peter Ryder met Civic Mayor of Tameside, Councillor John Sullivan on his arrival and welcomed him on behalf of Tameside College. The Mayor congratulated each contestant and the winner for their efforts on the day. Chris is now looking forward to competing in the next round.


 More news from Tameside College
right arrow